top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Making Music Is Therapy - My First Vegan Outreach Song: How To Go Vegan



Above is a short video in which I introduce you to my first self-written vegan activist song "How To Go Vegan" and share a bit about me as a singer/songwriter. Sadly I can't embed audio files in blog posts, so please give the song a listen on my BandLab page HERE.


Over the course of my therapy journey, I've come to turn more and more to music to help me with my Complex Trauma - to soothe myself, stimulate myself, break out of dissociation, connect to my different personality parts, break through shame, and to find my true self. Making music has not only become one of my most important coping mechanisms, but is also a powerful, transformative healing tool.


Stay tuned for more content about music, both in relation to trauma recovery, and activism.:)


You can also have a look at the Art Of Compassion Project (mentioned in the video) here.


The lyrics:


How To Go Vegan


You gotta want to,

you gotta want to,

open up your heart,

open up your heart.


You gotta have that drive,

you gotta have the will,

to open up,

open up.


What does it take?

What does it take?

For you.


What makes love stronger than fear?

Stronger than fear?

What makes you listen?

And not turn away,

not turn away?


What brings connection?

And not emptiness,

not emptiness?


What gives you courage?

To take that step,

take that step?


When did you leave them?

Your childhood dreams,

childhood dreams?


When did you stop to

listen to your heart,

speak from the heart,

know from the heart?


What does your child self

think of animals,

think of animals?


Would you have wanted

to see them safe from harm,

safe from harm?

31 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page